Ahti Salo

Professor in Systems Analysis



Phone:+358-50-383 0636
Reception:wed 15-16
Visiting address:Otakaari 1, Espoo Finland
Postal address:Aalto University School of Science, Systems Analysis Laboratory, P.O.Box 11100, 00076 Aalto, Finland

Professor Salo has worked extensively on the development of decision analytic methods and their uses in resource allocation, innovation management, risk management, technology foresight, and efficiency analysis. He has published widely in leading international journals (including Management Science and Operations Research) and serves on the Editorial Boards of several refereed journals.

In 2019, he received the MCDM Edgeworth-Pareto Award, the highest distinction of the International Society for Multiple Criteria Decision Making. The Decision Analysis Society of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) has awarded him the 2013 Best Publication Award for the book on Portfolio Decision Analysis and the 2022 Frank P. Ramsay Medal for distinguished contributions to decision analysis. 

Professor Salo has directed a broad range of basic and applied research projects funded by leading industrial firms, industrial federations, and funding agencies. He has been visiting professor at the London Business School, Université Paris-Dauphine, and the University of Vienna. He has been the President of the Finnish Operations Research Society (FORS) for two biennial terms. In 2010-11, he was the European and Middle East representative on the International Activities Committee of INFORMS. In 2010-16, he was a jury member of the EDDA Doctoral Dissertation Award of the Association of European Operational Research Societies (EURO) and chaired this jury in 2016. He served on the Board of the Association of Parliament Members and Researchers (Tutkas) in 1999-2019. In spring 2020, he was a member of the Science Panel, appointed by the Prime Minister's Office for obtaining scientific support for the management of the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2020-2023, he is a member of the Government Foresight Group, appointed by the Prime Minister’s Office of Finland.

Additional Information